Canada National Men’s Ice Hockey Team

Hockey Canada, along with executive director Steve Yzerman and the members of the Canada National Men’s Ice Hockey Team management group, announced Tuesday the 25-man squad nominated to the Canadian Olympic Committee as representatives of Canada at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games, which take place Feb. 7-23 in Sochi, Russia.

The Canada National Men’s Ice Hockey Team management group is comprised of Yzerman, Hockey Canada president and CEO Bob Nicholson, Hockey Canada vice-president of hockey operations and national teams Brad Pascall, Doug Armstrong, Peter Chiarelli, Ken Holland, and Kevin Lowe.

The squad nominated for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games includes three goaltenders, eight defenders and 14 forwards:

No Pos Player Club
1 Quebec GK Roberto Luongo Vancouver Canucks
2 British Columbia DF Duncan Keith Chicago Blackhawks
5 British Columbia DF Dan Hamhuis Vancouver Canucks
6 British Columbia DF Shea Weber Nashville Predators
8 Ontario DF Drew Doughty Los Angeles Kings
9 Ontario FW Matt Duchene Colorado Avalanche
10 Ontario FW Patrick Sharp Chicago Blackhawks
12 Saskatchewan FW Patrik Marleau San Jose Sharks
14 Saskatchewan FW Chris Kunitz Pittsburgh Penguins
15 Saskatchewan FW Ryan Getzlaf Anaheim Ducks
16 Manitoba FW Jonathan Toews Chicago Blackhawks
19 Alberta DF Jay Bouwmeester St. Louis Blues
20 Ontario FW John Tavares New York Islanders
22 British Columbia DF Jamie Benn Dallas Stars
24 Ontario FW Corey Perry Anaheim Ducks
27 Ontario DF Alex Pietrangelo St. Louis Blues
31 British Columbia GK Carey Price Montreal Canadiens
37 Quebec FW Patrice Bergeron Boston Bruins
41 Ontario GK Mike Smith Phoenix Coyotes
44 Quebec DF Marc-Édouard Vlasic San Jose Sharks
61 Ontario FW Rick Nash New York Rangers
76 Ontario DF P.K. Subban Montreal Canadiens
77 Ontario FW Jeff Carter Los Angeles Kings
87 Nova Scotia FW Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins
91 Ontario FW Steven Stamkos Tampa Bay Lightning

“I would like to congratulate the 25 players nominated today to Canada’s Olympic Team,” said Yzerman. “With the depth of talent in Canada, these players should be very proud of their nomination today and excited about the opportunity that we all have to represent our country in Sochi in February.”

Phoenix Coyotes' Mike Smith in front of 17,711 at the Broward County Civic Arena in Sunrise, Florida on 20 December 2011.

Phoenix Coyotes' Mike Smith in front of 17,711 at the Broward County Civic Arena in Sunrise, Florida on 20 December 2011.

“On behalf of Hockey Canada and its board of directors, I would like to congratulate the players nominated today, as well as all the volunteers, coaches, trainers and officials who helped them get to this level,” said Nicholson. “I would also like to commend Steve and the management group for their work over the past two years and their diligence under great scrutiny. Canadians should be very proud of this group and the work that they have done leading up to this day.”

“There is a tremendous amount of work involved with planning, selecting, and preparing a team of this calibre for the Olympic Games. I’d like to thank Hockey Canada for its strong commitment to promoting and preserving our national sport,” added Marcel Aubut, president of the Canadian Olympic Committee. “As Canadians, we have the highest expectations for our hockey teams, on and off the ice, and these great athletes have the potential to be an outstanding team competing for excellence in Sochi.”

The men’s Olympic hockey tournament begins Wednesday, Feb. 12th, with Canada’s first game on Thursday, Feb. 13th against Norway. The tournament culminates with the gold medal game on Feb. 23rd. In the Olympic preliminary round, Canada also faces off against Austria on Friday, Feb. 14th and Finland on Sunday, Feb. 16th. All of these games take place at the Bolshoy Ice Dome in Sochi.